monday inspiration

Indigo chambray dress via eShakti

i just bought this dress! for those who don’t know, i am always a tad skeptical of dresses. i feel incredibly awkward in a dress but i also adore them as a fashion item. for years, i’ve been working on finding dresses that i don’t feel awkward wearing.

i’m not particularly tall (somewhere between 5’5″ and 5’6″) but i seem to be just tall enough that dresses are either very short or just too long for my style. in recent years i have come to love my muscular legs and want to show them off in springtime and summertime, but with an athletic build comes the inevitable problem of short shorts or short dresses becoming indecent. and if dresses or shorts are too long, then i feel a little truncated. my height comes from my torso, so my legs are actually shorter than most women my height and this can become very obvious with too long hemlines.

so i’ve been eyeing this dress, and today my friend Nicole of Writes Like A Girl has a promotion code for eShakti on her blog; her followers can save 20% off a purchase! i wonder how much 20% would save me, so i head on over to eShakti and discover that new customers are given a $25 gift promotion, as well! now i’m sold. and the dress is sold. to me. i can’t wait for it to arrive!

also, eShakti offers customization of their items and the first one is free! so i was able to order this dress hemmed above-the-knee instead of its usual hemline below-the-knee.

but now, for some (p)inspiration! 

Source: behappy.me via Bailey on Pinterest

Source: pinterest.com via Bailey on Pinterest

 

also i created a new blog button. all by myself. it’s not that great but i’m learning GIMP. design isn’t really my bread & butter, either, but i want to learn some skills.

biw_button2

happy march, y’all! spring is just around the corner.

4 Comments

  1. i love this dress and it’s going to look gorgeous on you!! if you’re having bridesmaids in your wedding, i super suggest using eShakti for their dresses. that way, all the dresses fit correctly and they can even be a little different for each. i love that first pin so much. sometimes easier said than done, but it’s still a great motivator.

    xo nicole

  2. I feel ya girl! I’m also pretty short and I have athletic legs. It’s exactly what you said- too short and you’re inappropriate but too long and you look even shorter! I hope this dress fits perfectly!

Comments are closed.