first adult purchase of 2013

new_couch_jan13 002

Sorry for poor lighting – it’s raining & overcast, so all the light is my dull apartment lighting. (But spot the cat in the background!)

When I moved into my apartment in May 2012, I didn’t bring my couch with me. For one thing, it was absurdly heavy and very large (it was a couch bed), and it would have been too large for my smaller living area. For another thing, the men (husband-to-be and his dad) who move my furniture, refused to move the couch again, and I didn’t blame them one bit. But when I moved in May 2012, I didn’t exactly plan to go 7 months without a couch.

But I did. I could never find one I liked in my price range, and while I desperately needed a couch, I am terrible at spending money on things I need. I needed a couch, but couches are expensive and I am great at talking myself out of spending large sums of money.

Then I walked into a World Market this weekend and saw this small day bed on sale. I knew it would fit into my apartment’s small living area without making it look smaller still, and the sides fold down so the sofa can become a bed, which was the appeal of my previous couch-bed. Sure, it was $50 over my intended budget, but as husband-to-be reminded me, that budget for was for a used, consigned couch, and this was a brand new, never used sofa. So after wandering around World Market for about an hour, and sitting on this sofa a dozen times, I knew I really liked it and I asked husband-to-be if he liked it so much to use it in our new home in the fall. He really did, so that was that.

Don’t worry, it won’t remain white for long. I have a mostly black cat, and while she is currently afraid of the new sofa, she won’t be a scaredy-cat for long. There is a teal slipcover for this sofa, and I love it, so that will be the next semi-big purchase I make this year, but again, it’s necessary. Black cats and white sofas are not friends. Or, they are, and that’s the problem.

3 Comments

  1. world market is both dangerous and fabulous when it comes to outfitting an apartment. i pretty much won’t let myself go in there because i can’t afford the ottoman i will inevitably purchase upon walking through the sliding doors.

    i’m so excited that the slip cover is teal. that couch is precious and a teal couch is even better. congrats on your big girl buy!
    xo

Comments are closed.