Genre Favorites Blogfest by Alex J. Cavanaugh

It’s been a LONG while, I know. But that’s how it goes this time of year for me.

This morning I was reading through my blog subscriptions, and I saw that Cally Jackson was doing a fun blogfest hosted by Alex J. Cavanaugh. So I figured, why not? I haven’t blogged in weeks, and the blogfest looked like some fun, so I’m going to join in last minute.

You can read the directions on Alex’s blog if you’re really interested in them, so I’m just going to jump right into content.

Favorite Movie Genre: Action, action, action! (also, action in space)

  • Grosse Pointe Blank
  • Die Hard, Die Harder, Die Hard with a Vengeance (let’s all ignore #4, shall we?)
  • The Avengers (and it’s preceding films)
  • 2001: A Space Odyssey (which is maybe more adventure, but it’s great)
  • Guilty pleasure: Star Trek

Favorite Music Genre: I don’t know — seriously, I do not have much an ear for music, and as such, can never remember things like musical genres. Maybe after this list, you can tell me?

  • The Hush Sound
  • Neon Trees
  • Hey! Ocean
  • Sugarcult
  • Guilty pleasure: The Steve Miller Band

Favorite Book Genre: Fantasy / Paranormal / High Fantasy (a select few)

  • Vampire Academy and Bloodlines, Richelle Mead (really, all Richelle Mead, including her adult books)
  • The Dresden Files, Jim Butcher
  • Swordspoint, Ellen Kushner (and the other Riverside novels)
  • The Curse Workers series, Holly Black
  • Guilty pleasure: Pride and Prejudice and Zombies, Seth Grahame-Smith and Jane Austen

To add my own, Favorite TV Genre: The CW (also, the WB)

  • Supernatural
  • The Vampire Diaries
  • Gilmore Girls
  • Veronica Mars
  • Guilty pleasure: Gossip Girl

So that’s it! I hope you enjoyed this brief interlude on my blog — I really will probably just disappear back into the graduate school abyss. BUT FIRST, all week I am hanging out at NA Alley, and I’ll be tweeting from @NAAlleyBlog, and on Thursday night I will be moderating #NALitChat with E.J. Wesley. So while I may not be here much, I am all around the Internet. Find me & say hello!

 

25 Comments

  1. So much win in this post. Where to start, let’s see…

    Movies:
    Die Hard – Yes please! Did you know there’s a new one in the works?
    Avengers – Thought it was the best movie this summer, sorry Dark Knight.
    Star Trek – Enjoyed the previous iterations, but was absolutely floored by the newest J. J. A. version. The sequel is easily my most anticipated movie of next summer.

    Music:
    Just discovered the Hush Sound and really enjoying them. They are a very eclectic sound. And I’ll call the Neon Trees albums one of my bigger musical surprises from the previous year or so. They go much deeper than the ‘pop’ sound a lot of people know from their bigger hits. Very much like the Killers, in a great way.

    TV:
    Just getting into Supernatural (someone read one of my recent stories and said it reminded them of the show, so I’m investigating…). The real reason I can watch it is because it has the Gilmore Girls ‘Dean’ in it. Thus it is considered viewable content by my better half. lol Seriously though, I’m going to confess something that probably shouldn’t leave this blog: I’m a secret Gilmore Girls junky, too. We re-watch the series once a year in our house. Some of the best dialogue ever put on TV in my opinion.

    Best for last: The return of Bailey to #NALitChat! Yeah, you just made my week a whole heckofalot better. 😀 I’ve taken up your mantle as the weekly ‘link finder btw’, but I have to confess I’m a little nervous to do the Google for this week’s topic. *blushes* Better make sure my ‘safe search’ is on…

    Can’t wait ’til Thursday night!

    • Star Trek — all of the above, but my guilty pleasure is specifically the new JJ Abrams movie. I just really like watching Chris Pine run around on a spaceship.

      I have seen 3 episodes of “The Walking Dead,” and I know it’s on Netflix, so it’s on the very long list of TV shows I am trying to catch up on (behind Vampire Diaries and Supernatural).

      And I take a lot of slack for Steve Miller, so I’m glad to see another fan (maybe; that’s at least what your comment implies).

  2. I see our favourites don’t cross paths too much! hehe I do enjoy a good action movie but it must have good characterisation too. If it’s all bombs and explosions, it loses me. Take the last Mission Impossible for example – snore! Glad you joined in on the blogfest! 🙂

Comments are closed.