Ask the Reader, 9.5.2012

What is your favorite Fall tradition?

So it’s that time of year again! Fall. Autumn. The best time of year. I’m a sucker for Fall, even though we don’t really have the season here in Texas. It’s mostly just hot through the end of October, and then it magically transitions to winter rain. But in New Mexico, there is a real Fall season and it has always been my favorite time of year. It still is, even though it’s a lot hotter in Texas. As it happens, I have two favorite Fall traditions, one for Texas and one for New Mexico, and this year I get to experience them both.

Texas Fall Tradition: Aggie Football 

I am a sports fanatic, and college football is definitely my favorite. I love going to games and sitting in the sun for four hours and doing the yells (yells are an Aggie tradition, and one that’s complicated to explain). This season brings about a lot of changes for my team, and while I don’t have season tickets anymore, I will be at their first game of the season this Saturday. BTHO Florida!

I am also lifelong fan of the UNM Lobos, but we really suck at football [I say we exist to make other teams feel good when they beat us], and I not-so-secretly always hope for a perfect losing season. They always let me down, though, and squeak out a win in the eighth or ninth game. But, the Lobos rule at basketball and that is why I’m still a fan. (Also, because it was just part of growing up where I did. In order to go down a big blue slide at the end of P.E. when I was in elementary school, a child had to do the Lobo hand sign and do the Lobo chant. This inevitably makes someone a Lobo fan because the big blue slide was legit.)

New Mexico Fall Tradition: Balloon Fiesta

If you don’t know, Albuquerque, New Mexico is home to the largest international balloon fiesta. Seriously. It’s a really great place to go ballooning, and every year in October the Balloon Fiesta takes over my home city region. As a kid, I went every year with my parents. I went up in a balloon for the first time when I was 5 years old.  In high school, I had to volunteer one weekend morning (from 3 am – 9 am) to help park cars (I waved a flashlight to direct traffic), and while it is now a great memory, I mostly remember freezing for six hours.

This year, for the first time, I’m taking my boyfriend to the Balloon Fiesta. I could not be more excited. The fates aligned because on a weekend of an away game for Aggie football (see, it determines my whole fall schedule), a weekend of dawn patrol and balloon glow was on the agenda for the Balloon Fiesta. “Real Fall,” as I call it, is also something my boyfriend has never seen. He’s never seen the leaves change, and felt the crisp winter on the air, and he’s never seen my hometown (which is outside the city) get all dolled up for harvest time. It’s my most favorite time of year to be home, and I haven’t been back in a the fall for years. I could not be more excited for this October.

So leave a comment below about some of your favorite Fall traditions. What are the things you wait all year for? 

 

1 Comment

  1. Aggies have a big game this weekend, B! You going? Would love to see the balloon festival someday…

    Fall is easily my favorite time of year. Football is probably my biggest ‘thing’ in terms of craves and life indulgences. Like you, I’m a huge fan of collegiate football (BOOMER SOONER!), but also love me some NFL. I go into mourning when the seasons end … but I do love basketball, so there’s that. 🙂

    Other Fall things I love: Pumpkin anything (including beer–yum!); colors (though we don’t get to see many here in South Texas); school (yeah, I still get excited about the school year–and I don’t even go to school anymore lol); enjoying warm foods again (A hot-Texas thing .. who can eat soup when it’s 110 degrees outside? And I LOVE cooking and eating soup, dang it); lighting the chimnea for the first time (burning wood smell FTW); BBQ-ing for football every weekend–and probably tons of other things I’m forgetting.

    Favorite Fall tradition in Texas has to be the Wurst Festival in New Braunfels. It’s full of German music, food, and beverages and I adore it.

Comments are closed.