B.E.D.April 16

So I got into BEDA this year because I think it’s fun once or twice a year (BEDA repeats in August because, you know, it’s the other month that begins with the letter “A”) to blog every single day. Also, I usually lose steam around the 10th (I’m doing so well this month!) and I don’t really feel bad because no one actually wants to read my blog every day. Especially when days like yesterday happen — see yesterday’s BEDA post — and I spend a few dozen words saying absolutely nothing.

Today on Twitter I discovered a new and interesting blog every day / blog as often as you’d like to / blog as often as you can thing that is happening in the month of May! (By the way, I found this thing by way of Juliana Haygert, who retweeted something by a Katy Upperman, who linked to the page by Sara McClung that has the full explanation and description of what’s up. Internet chains are fascinating, aren’t they?)

Link to Blog Me Maybe info

The thing that’s happening is Blog Me MAYbe, and pasted above is the really awesome banner (taken from Sara McClung’s blog and designed by Tracey Neithercott).

The deal is that all the awesome women who have come together to put together Blog Me MAYbe have created a schedule of topics for each day of the week; and the idea is that you can participate and blog about the topics every day / as often as you’d like to / as often as you can. For the full schedule of topics, please please please visit any of the blogs linked to above; however, below I’ve pasted the days that I will be participating in for this awesome Blog Me MAYbe idea. Everyone knows I need a way to stay on top of my blogging, and certain Blog Me MAYbe topics fit directly into how I’ll be spending my blogging & non-blogging summer time.

Mondays: May I tell you something about writing?
This can be anything writing-related. A post on craft. A post on your process. A snippet of your WIP, if you like to share. A book on craft that you want to recommend. Things you struggle with. Things you rock at. ANYTHING at all!

Thursdays: May I tell you something about someone else?
Make this post about someone else. A writing friend. A critique partner. A person from history who’s fascinating. A character from a book. Anyone you want. 🙂 Have a guest poster. Give an interview. Get creative! Just let the spotlight shine on someone else.

What I immediately liked about the idea of Blog Me MAYbe is two-fold: first, I don’t have to blog every single day, but it does hold me semi-accountable to blogging specific days because, after I post this blog, I will be sharing the link on Sara’s blog and officially signing up to participate; and second, the topics I’ve chosen already fit into ideas I have for summer blogging, but now I have scheduled days to post those already planned things.

Now let me ask you: what kind of schedule do you like to keep for your blog? Do you enjoy participating in these sort of blog things that prompt you / encourage you to set a schedule for blogging? Do you like having topics semi-pre-determined for your blog? Do you plan on participating in Blog Me MAYbe now that I’ve brought it to your attention or if it was brought to your attention by someone else?

4 Comments

Comments are closed.