“The Hunger Games” film, my initial thoughts

Since lots of people keep asking what I thought of THE HUNGER GAMES movie:

1. I really enjoyed it, and overall I’m happy with the film as an adaptation of the book. I think the acting was great — because we’re in Katniss’s head in the book, I never realized that she can’t talk in the arena for fear of being found — I think Lawrence did a phenomenal job with facial expressions and silence. I think the setting was imaginative and the costuming was superb.

2. In the same way I needed to reread the book series to get past the initial shock of the horrible things occurring, I will need to see this movie again to get beyond the shock of seeing children killed on screen. That was way worse on screen than in my own head. And yes, I cried as much in the movie as I did in the book.

3. I don’t instantly hate Gale in the movie (thanks Hemsworth!), but I’m still Team Peeta all the way.

4. At the end of it all, I realized some of my favorite scenes and lines were left out. And then, I realized that I LOVED THAT. I’m happy that the movie left me some scenes to only enjoy in the book… and the movie created some scenes for me to only enjoy in film (I really loved seeing Seneca manipulate the Games and I’m intrigued about how the decision for two winning tributes was explained).

All in all, I’m very content with the film, but I’m even happier that it made me just want to pick up my book copy of THE HUNGER GAMES and spend more time with *my* Katniss, *my* Peeta, and *my* Panem.

I do have more thoughts, but if you want to know those, leave a comment down below about something you want to discuss about the film.

3 Comments

  1. First: Team Peeta.

    I was pleased that they kept the death and violence horrifying (and it was) instead of it being violence-as-entertainment as it often is in ‘action’ movies. It wasn’t comical or dismissed. It wasn’t meant to excite. It was meant to be horrible, it was meant to hurt. I’m glad that was the direction the film went in, because the book is so effective in that sense.

    The casting was well-done overall. The editing was effective. On the whole, while it will never equal the book for me (what ever does?), it is a faithful and effective screen adaptation. I liked it. Will see again!

    • I’ve heard a lot of things about the “shaky camera” editing effect (which was required during horrific, gory violence scenes to keep the rating down to PG-13), but it wasn’t something I particularly noticed IN the film. I remembered it afterwards, and it did effect how I remembered the violent deaths, but while watching I was too in-the-moment I guess to really feel a disorienting impact. Also, I thought the deaths were disorienting–both in book and film–so I thought the shakiness went well with that feeling. But yes, the violence was violent — it wasn’t romanticized. I’m thankful that was consistent, though I didn’t really doubt that in Gary Ross’ hands either.

      I will see it again, probably next weekend. And in many weeks I will have more thoughts to share, thoughts I’m keeping to myself now so as not to influence any opinions one way or another. Not claiming I have that power, but I tend to take into films & books what I’ve read about them previously (which is why I usually avoid hype & reviews like the plague).

  2. I completely agree with most of your points. I loved the film, I thought it was well done and conveyed a lot of the feelings from the first person narrative that I had thought would be lost. There are some scenes that I’m glad they cut, so that they can remain my own, but there were certain lines that they cut that deeply disappointed me. Not that I specifically needed the lines, but because I wanted to see the scenes that those lines were linked to in the future films.

    Truthfully, while I was shocked by the deaths, that is how I had pictured them in my head. I was more shocked by the poverty in District 12. While the words clicked, that image was not what was brought to mind. It should have been and probably says more about my perspective because it hadn’t.

Comments are closed.