So I hear I need a CV…

A part of my DH course is practical (which is so refreshing!), and for this post our professor has asked us to consider our CVs and how to best represent our interest in the digital, whether we define that interest as pedagogical or see ourselves as full Digital Humanists.

Except I don’t have a CV. That statement is, of course, followed by an unspoken “yet” because before I get much further into my graduate career I will need a CV. (At the latest, next fall when I begin teaching 104 and am required by state law to post it online.) But as of this moment in time, I don’t have a CV because I have been, quite frankly, too darn scared to take the time and the steps to revise my résumé into a curriculum vitae.

I’ve even put off just typing the words “curriculum vitae” into a word processor because… well, what comes after that heading? I’m convinced there will be nothing to my CV, and it was only after some in-class discussion with peers last week that I’m a little less afraid of this blank page. I think a blank page, quite frankly, highlights just how far behind I feel in graduate school.*

(*I realize this thought is quite irrational. As it happens, this feeling of “being so far behind” and “not worthy” is extremely common and even goes by the name Imposter Syndrome. But I’m discovering I find little comfort in knowing everyone else suffers from this inevitable side effect of graduate school.)

However, my peers did do a good job of reassuring me that, as I continue deeper down the academic rabbit hole, my CV will stop being so blank. So, in considering my CV and what might go on it, I have come up with the following section headers and determined what sort of present and future information might fill them out.

  • “Education”, which will of course list my B.A. from St. Edward’s University and, soon enough, my M.A. in English from Texas A&M University.
  • “Research and Teaching Interests”, which will include my teaching assistantships and help me define my broader interests, both digital and non-digital, despite my lack of real scholarship in most of those areas.
  • “Other Professional Experience”, which will, for now, include both my undergraduate thesis (More than Words: Multimodal First-Year Composition at St. Edward’s University) and then the internship I did to pilot the course I called for in that thesis. This may, also for now, list my current employment beyond graduate school. (For those that don’t know, I work in IT in another department at Texas A&M.)
  • “Languages”, which will include my proficiency in Spanish, as well as list my currently knowledge of XHTML & CSS. This section will, I believe, be the easiest to flesh out as I continue in graduate school to learn other useful computer-related languages, like TEI.

I do not, however, have any trouble knowing how to define my digital interests, even if I am struggling how best to categorize and organize those interests on the physical (or implied) page. I am pedagogically digital.

My pedagogical interests move beyond bringing digital elements (for example, YouTube videos) into the classroom and giving students basic skills of how to use digital tools (I’m thinking about database research here, or PowerPoint presentations). My interests have been rooted in teaching students how to compose digitally (I’m referring back to my undergrad thesis here), to consider the rhetorical situation of various modes of communication, and to become adept at building more than the basic PowerPoint when they graduate college.

But I suppose now I should make the move to open a word processor and begin drafting my CV, even if the only thing I feel I can do right now is build a skeleton. A frame work is, at least, a good starting place.

1 Comment

  1. Pingback: Friday — Floods & Chopsticks | baileyiswriting

Comments are closed.