My “Best of” 2011

Look at me, finally getting around to my “Best of” post for 2011. I’ve debated putting this list together for most of January, but then figured, what the heck? I liked a lot of things in 2011. But here are my five favorite things of 2011, as far as entertainment and media is concerned, anyway.

BEST BOOK, HANDS DOWN, NO COMPETITION, of 2011

So really, this was without a doubt the best book I read in 2011. It also happens that it was published in 2011. It’s actually, probably also one of the best books I’ve read in years. It’s mysterious, magical, intriguing, emotional, heartwarming, heartbreaking, and poetic. It is a completely alluring book and I am completely in love with it.

BEST YA BOOK of 2011

It is entirely possible that Nova Ren Suma is going to think I’m an obsessive, creepy girl because I pretty much talk at her every day on the Internet, usually via Twitter but sometimes via her blog. This is a book about sisters and the love between them, and the things that make that bond stronger and the things that threaten to tear them apart. It’s haunting and truthful. It’s another book I am completely in love with.

And, as an interesting point of fact…

BEST BLOG of 2011

Also goes to Nova Ren Suma with Distraction No. 99.  If you’ve never visited Nova’s blog, I definitely recommend that you do. She offers amazingly supportive and insightful blog series that feature a variety of amazing authors talking about very interesting things. Besides, the design is enviable.

BEST MOVIE WATCHED in 2011

Yes, that’s Jesse McCartney. As it happens, he is really fantastic in this movie. The script is poignant and the cinematography is brilliant. This is based on a short story of the same name by Ron Carlson, but I haven’t had the chance to read it. I’ll admit, I’m a little worried the short story won’t live up to the movie, and I don’t care if that’s backwards. I have these sudden moments of needing to watch this movie. Fortunately, it’s on Netflix Instant.

BEST ALBUM LISTENED TO in 2011

The main song on the radio, “Pumped Up Kicks”, is not a thing like the rest of the album. Which is how these things go. That said, it’s become my driving around music, my cleaning music, my studying music, my reading music… it’s very good in the background and very good to sing and dance along to, as well. It plays right next to my Neon Trees, “Habits” album and my Phantom Planet, “The Guest” album.

2 Comments

Comments are closed.