New Year, the same thing but different

Howdy, and finally, Happy New Year!

I’m actually a big fan of the new year, and the concept that once every 365 days I have an extra motivation to do all those things I wanted to do last year and didn’t. Either because I didn’t get around to them or because I was too scared or I didn’t think of the idea until December 31. I like the New Year and I like making New Year’s resolutions, so I made some writing-&-reading resolutions and I’m going to share them with you.


OK, so I’m not actually going to share them with you because I never like to do that, but I got the idea of the numbered pieces of paper as proof of my resolutions from Nova Ren Suma’s blog post on 2012 resolutions. Like her, I’m going to reveal them as I complete them. One of my personal resolutions this year is to take more ownership of things I commit to, and actually commit to them. Follow-through on things that are Just For Me is kind of a major failing of mine. I’m great at committing to things for friends, or family, or school, or work. But committing to myself? I’m pretty awful at that, so I have these 3 writing-&-reading resolutions that are Just For Me, and by putting them on this here blog, maybe I’ll be embarrassed if I don’t follow through. And, arbitrarily there are 3 because I like the number 3.

Other things that are happening this new year:

I am starting my second semester of graduate school next week, and, assuming life continues on schedule, I will start my third semester of graduate school in September. It’s my first and only full year of graduate school, which pretty much makes 2012 exceptionally stressful, but very rewarding.

I am taking several trips. A few I’m trying to make, assuming all things go right financially and timing-wise, are: BEA, a conference in digital humanities up in Canada, another writers’ retreat with L.G., and maybe, just maybe, a trip to France with my mother.

I am moving in June. After living in my current apartment for two years, I’ve decided it’s time to move to a new one. The reasons are many, including, but not limited to, an outrageous utility bill, a desire to avoid repeating Cockroach War ’10 and ’11 in ’12, and the excuse to redecorate everything. The major downside of moving? Packing up & transporting my 600+ book library. I’m quite happy that AccioBooks happens in March.

I am taking ballet. Why? Because I really love dance and I’ve never done it. Seems like a good enough reason to me.

Finally, I am one of the many who own this:

My J scribble is silver

I am reading it slowly– enjoying every moment instead of devouring it all in one go. (I know I won’t have time for a re-read, so I’m taking my sweet time now.)

This strategy is kind of hard.

There will be a review of this on MH Lit Society (under site maintenance until January 17) on February 7, and ALL OF US (Laura, Kelly, Kenzie, and I) will be reviewing it in a conversation-style.

I think they might be bummed it’s going to take me so long to read this. Sorry!

There are also a few new things coming up on the blog this year, a series or two, and some more of my usual ramblings. So, until next time…

Do you have any new year resolutions? Are any of them writing or reading focused? Or do you just wing-it into new adventures? Do you have anything fun or interesting coming up this year? Anything your dreading? Please share in the comments below. I’d love to hear from you.

8 Comments

  1. Hey, sis!
    I have some New Year Resolutions, but most of them are knitting goals. I should probably add some writing goals into the mix, but I really don’t want to this second.

    However, I will be moving into a new apartment this year. As you know, I’m currently living with Jessica and Missy after the failure that was me living in my mother’s apartment. Hopefully, I’ll be moving out in March. That’s a hopeful thing though. I still need to find a second job since the library one crashed and burned.

    • Isn’t moving an exciting pain in the butt? I’m pretty stoked that I’m moving, and I can throw things away and buy new things and save money and not battle cockroaches at 3 am… but the physical act of packing, moving, and unpacking is basically a horrible thing. I really, really hate that. I wish you the best of luck on your apartment & job search and things of this nature.

      Also, what are your knitting resolutions? I’d like to know.

  2. I don’t necessarily do resolutions, but rather I like to do goals. They can be the same thing, but not always. So this year I decided to set a few goals for myself. I’ll share them as I (hopefully) achieve them!
    L

Comments are closed.