Not Just Another (Manic) Monday

Dear You,

It’s a Monday, and for me, it’s been a pretty relaxing Monday as far as Mondays go. I don’t know if you know this, but Monday is usually my favorite day of the week. When it’s not, the honor falls to Thursday. Most of this fall semester, Mondays have been pretty much awful (well, not awful so much as horribly busy), so Thursdays have been the consistent winner from week to week for Best Day.

But today, for a Monday, was pretty great. This has to do entirely with the fact that my afternoon lecture (American Bildungsroman) was cancelled. With this cancellation, of course, came the caveat that we were supposed to use the afternoon off to move forward with our seminar papers. I, however, opted to do pretty much everything BUT my seminar paper. (I did add a few sentences of crappy notes to my introduction, which I have to refine to decent tomorrow morning, so I don’t feel like I entirely missed the point of my afternoon off.)

So what did I do with my Monday afternoon? Well, I went to the store, I made ham & swiss cheese muffins, I dyed my hair, I read quite a bit more of The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern, I added those crappy few sentences, I went to Target, and then I went back to school to read and prep for my night lecture.

For the first time in weeks, my night lecture (Medieval Literature) didn’t feel so fantastically tiring. Probably because I spent an entire afternoon relaxing in a most productive manner. Not that this makes a 3-hour night lecture go faster, but it does mean I yawned less and I didn’t need an injection of caffeine straight into my vein.

Now I’m going to curl up with more of The Night Circus, and mentally unwind so that I can properly attack Tuesday as well. If my week and my productivity continue on this track, I’ll be heading into the Halloween weekend feeling mighty fine.

Good night,

B

