The Other Side (of the Classroom)

Dear You,

So I have to blog. Why? Because my Google calender keeps popping up little reminders at me. This is exactly why I put blogging in my Google calender in the first place, because I read somewhere that blogging on a consistent schedule makes any semblance of readership happy and Google provides little, obnoxious pop ups.

But so it was at least a little bit happy, my blog is the color yellow in my calender (as opposed to school which is purple or work which is teal).

Now that I’m here, though, on Thursday, I’m stuck with the familiar feeling of not knowing what to write about. It’s not that I don’t have a ton of stories to share, but as a lot of them are tied up in my teaching duties, I’m not actually allowed to tell them. At least, I don’t want to run the risk of saying something in a way I shouldn’t that would might maybe possibly get me in trouble. I feel like teachers, long-time teachers, know how to appropriate and anonymously share stories from teaching without crossing any of the mostly invisible privacy laws. I’m not that experienced yet.

Truth be told, I’m having a blast being a graduate assistant. I basically am a grader/attendance-taker/note-compiler/all-around helpful person, and it’s a pretty fun person to be. I definitely am accumulating what one of my professors, Dr. H., would call “student horror stories”.  Though they aren’t all horrible. In fact, a majority of them aren’t horrible. Most of them are me seeing things from the other side–of the classroom, I mean–for the first time. I’m seeing in my students a lot of the tricks I used to try and pull, I’m hearing a lot of the excuses that I once thought were valid & well-articulated, I’m seeing the indignant looks I used to give over the smallest of grades. It’s very interesting, and kinda funny, from this side.

So I guess that’s something.

And now, I’ve gotta just go ahead and publish this short snippet, sign off, and pack. Tomorrow I’m heading to the city for the weekend to visit my best friend, and I have got to pack tonight as I have zero time tomorrow between teaching, my IT job, and then actually leaving for said city and friend.

I’ll talk to you next Thursday,

B

