9.22.2011

I’ve been fighting a head cold since Sunday. Let me tell you, head colds and graduate school don’t mix. I can’t imagine what will happen if I actually get the flu this winter.

In good news, my paperwork has come through at my job, so I am back at work this week and once again making enough money to live. That’s a very nice feeling. I feel properly busy again.

I’ve been rereading Pride & Prejudice before bed this week, and I watched the BBC/A&E film adaptation over the weekend. So I’ve been thinking a lot lately about letter writing. Or more precisely, about how letter writing might compare or not compare with blogging.

I wonder this because when I know exactly who I am speaking to, I know better what to say to them, how to shape stories and what jokes they’ll find funny. But without an exact audience, I find all of these tasks much more difficult. I realize this is in someway a lot like writing an academic paper — as a writer, you must imagine your audience. I’m much better at imagining audiences reading academic papers than I am audiences reading blogs. The fact is, not a lot of people wander this way, and I suspect the few who do are the same every time.

So who are you? I’d like to know.

Blogs have a great potential to not be one-sided.

Sincerely,

B

1 Comment

Comments are closed.